Check Out My Melons


This morning was all about breakfast.  Today is the first day since last Sunday (I think) that I haven’t had something penciled in on the calendar to do.  Consequently, I took my time getting up this morning, watched a little of the Today Show, and then decided to tackle breakfast. 

First, I chopped up a melon.

DSC03660

It was a perfectly round melon with green ridges around its rind.  The inside was a bright peach-ish, orange-ish color with juicy “meat” and a compact seed core.  A wonderfully delicious start to the day.

DSC03663

However, I wasn’t finished with breakfast just yet.  I knew that if I didn’t eat something else, I would finish this entire melon by myself in just a few short hours. 

The past few weeks I have been craving a bowl of cold cereal like you wouldn’t believe.  I haven’t had a bowl of cereal in quite some time, but with the triple digit weather recently, it seems like the perfect cold breakfast way to start the day.

Yesterday, while at the grocery store, I picked up a box of Kashi Island Vanilla cold cereal.

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At first glance the nutritional facts didn’t seem too bad.

So, I poured myself a bowl.

DSC03667

But, wait a minute!  What is the serving size? 

image

27 biscuits?!?!?! 

I have to count out 27 biscuits?? 

Hmmm…  interesting.

So, I counted how many biscuits I had poured in my bowl. 

43 biscuits.

16 biscuits too many.

DSC03664

This is a bowl of 27 biscuits.  Apparently my idea of a bowl of cereal is a little different from the cereal industry’s. 

I added a little almond milk and a handful of blueberries to complete the meal.
DSC03670

It is a very sweet cereal as it is sweetened with both evaporated cane juice and evaporated cane juice syrup.  However, it does claim to contain a full day’s serving of whole grains.  Not too shabby.

What is your favorite “healthy” cereal?  Have you found that what you pour in a bowl is right-on or way too much???

Today’s agenda includes lots of relaxing.  I’m going to stay in my jammies for a little while longer while I watch the movie Dear John that just came in the mail through Netflix.  Then I am going to head to the gym for a quick 3 mile run and weights.  After that who knows???  ;)

Have a wonderful day!!!! 

Here’s a Portion Control Quiz that you might find interesting.  Just click here!  Let me know how you did!!!  I missed quite a few!!!!

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Check Out My Melons

  1. Hmmmm you totally have me craving cantaloupe now! Good thing I have one waiting for me at home.

    My favorite healthy cereals are Kashi Autumn Wheat and just plain Shredded Wheat. And I’m with you on the serving sizes – I think I tend to give myself double what it calls for! OOPS!

  2. Larry Sanders

    What about yellow chocalate cake portions? Is half of the cake in one sitting bad for me? ; )

  3. So jealous of your relaxing summer day. Reading your blog makes me want to become a teacher. :)

    And, I agree cereal portions are usually much smaller than the amount I typically pour in the bowl. I’m always shocked at how little the amount is when I actually measure. My favorites are kashi go lean and TJ’s high fiber cereal.

    PS – Just added you to my blog roll!!

    • Thanks, Brittany!!! I love reading your blog and all of the places you visit in Richmond!

      The teaching world is always looking for dedicated people!! It’s never too late. You could be a health and fitness teacher :)

Leave a Reply

