Miss Antsy Pants


Yesterday morning I had visions of relaxing, reading, and watching movies all day.  However, I just couldn’t do it!  I’ve come to the realization that I am Miss Antsy Pants.

I can not sit still and do nothing.  Well, not unless I am on a beach or sitting by the pool.  But any of you living on the east coast know that it was way too hot to be outside yesterday. 

So, although I did watch a movie and read a bit yesterday, it was not until after I thoroughly cleaned and dusted the upstairs, did two loads of laundry, baked a loaf of low-fat banana bread, and made a batch of homemade hummus. 

See???  Antsy Pants!! 

After cleaning the upstairs, I came downstairs and noticed three very ripe (AKA black) bananas in the fruit basket.  I couldn’t let these go to waste, so of course the perfect solution was banana bread!

[Source]

**Note** This is not a picture of the banana bread I made.  My camera has been acting funny, so this is a photo from the Betty Crocker website. :(

I followed this recipe from Betty Crocker, but made a few healthier substitutions.  Here are the ingredients I used instead:

    • 1 cup sugar
    • 1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened (in hind sight I should have used apple sauce)
    • 2 egg whites
    • 1 1/2 cups mashed very ripe bananas (3 to 4 medium)
    • 1/2 cup skim milk
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla
    • 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
    • 1 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1 teaspoon salt
    • 1 cup blueberries

The loaf turned out a little dry, so next time I will definitely add 1/2 or 1 cup of apple sauce for some extra moisture.

While the warm aroma of banana bread filled the house I decided to make a batch of homemade hummus

As usual, it soothed my soul and rocked my taste buds!  I heart hummus!!!!  I foresee hummus sandwiches in my near future.

I also made a little time for strength training.  The plan was to run 3 miles and do strength training, but I just couldn’t make myself go outside.  The air was so hot it took my breath away!

Recently, I stumbled across Women’s Health Magazine printable workout plans.  This is an entire page of different workouts you can download and print to take to the gym.  I fell in love. 

I downloaded three workouts yesterday, and decided to do the Ultimate Fitness Plan 2010 circuit A in the comfort of my perfectly air conditioned living room. 

1001-ult-fitness-pdf.jpg[Source]

I did the circuit 3 times in about 35 minutes.  This workout was definitely easier than the workouts I’ve gotten out of Shape Magazine, so it would be perfect for workout newbies and anyone who needs a quick effective workout for those days when you are in a rush. 

Today’s plan is to go to the gym for cardio, hang out with the hubby who has Thursdays off, work on some writing curriculum for the county, and RELAX (maybe). :)

My brother lent me the second Stieg Larsson book, The  Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest.  If it is anything like the first book, I’ll be done by the end of the weekend ;)

Enjoy the cooler (95 degree) weather today, do a little rain dance, and remember to take some time to relax! :)

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Miss Antsy Pants

  1. You cooked yesterday? But it was 106 degrees! (at least it was where I am.) The lowfat banana bread looks yummy!

    I haven’t read the 2nd Larsson book yet either. I hope it’s good!

    • It was 103 degrees here also. However, with baking you just have to plop the loaf pan in the oven and pull it out when it is done. No slaving over the stove for me ;)

  2. That’s what I would call myself, too. Ms. Antsy Pants. I go crazy if I have to sit still doing nothing! I get really cranky when I have to wait more than 5 minutes for someone, too.

    Hopefully the weather continues to cool down…I might die of heat stroke!

Leave a Reply

