Hey, Good Lookin’


What’cha got cooking?!?!?!?  How’s about cookin’ something up with me?!?!?

Just for you, Pop-Pop! 

This video left me grinnin’ from ear to ear!  Enjoy!

Some yummy breakfast is what I’ve got cookin’.  But more on that later ;)

I’m kind of getting used to this stay at home wife business.  Every summer for the past 8 years I have taught summer school or taken classes for my masters.  This is the first summer I have actually had the opportunity to enjoy one of the greatest perks of being a teacher:  Summers OFF!!!

Over the past few weeks, I have fallen in love with Regis and Kelly.

Regis Philbin and Kelly Ripa took the show on the road to film 'Live With Regis & Kelly' in Miami... Non-Exclusive Pix by Flynet 2009 818-307-4813  Nicolas 323-974-6007  Jay 310-466-8617  Scott [Source]

Kelly has awesome shoes and killer arms! 

I have read numerous books.

(Still working on this one.  It’s a doozie!)

I have gone to the gym anytime I fancied (I mean, just check out my fitness log!).

And I have had fun playing around in the kitchen. 

Especially with breakfast recipes. 

During the school year, breakfast usually consists of Overnight Oats, cooked oats, or a bowl of cereal.  Basically, anything I can make and eat quickly before rushing out the door. 

Having more time this summer means I have actually been able to make breakfasts that take longer than 3 minutes!  :)

This morning I decided to make a Tofu Scramble. 

downsized_0713001129b[1]

During a trip to Harrisonburg this past winter, I had my first experience with Tofu Scramble at The Little Grill.  It was heavy on curry, but it stayed in the back of my mind as something I could try recreating at home. 

When scrambled, tofu has a very similar texture to scrambled eggs.   

Add in some veggies, fake sausage, and spices.  Voila!  A Tofu Scramble that even the most apprehensive tofu eaters will enjoy!

Here is my recreation (minus curry!).  I didn’t actually measure the dry ingredients.  I would recommend adding a little bit, tasting, and then adding more as needed.

Ingredients:

  • 1 block extra firm tofu
  • 1 red bell pepper chopped
  • 1 half sweet Vidalia onion chopped
  • 4 Morning Star fake sausage links
  • turmeric (this is what gives the tofu a yellow tint)
  • onion powder
  • garlic powder
  • cayenne pepper
  • nutritional yeast

1.  Press water out of tofu by wrapping it in paper towels and squeezing, or lay something heavy on wrapped tofu for about 15 minutes. 

2. Cube tofu into 1 inch cubes.

3.  Heat pan over medium high eat and spray with olive oil spray.

4.  Add onions, peppers, “sausage”, and tofu to pan.

4.  “Scramble” the tofu by mashing it with a fork or spatula. 

5.  Sprinkle with spices and nutritional yeast.

6.  Continue to cook and stir mixture until it is piping hot.

I created a breakfast burrito by topping a whole wheat tortilla with the tofu scramble mixture and added some Veggie Shreds Monterey Jack/Cheddar cheese.

0713001132[1]

0713001133a[1]

And that’s a wrap!

I have plenty of leftovers to have for breakfast the rest of the week!  I’m thinking “egg” sandwiches, McMuffins, and more breakfast burritos.  Yum!

Today’s agenda includes researching a new camera (any suggestions??), a crazy cardio sesh, a possible boot camp extravaganza, a little reading, and a trip to Target!

Enjoy the rest of your day! 

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Hey, Good Lookin’

  1. Glad you’re enjoying an actual summer off! This summer is actually the first one I haven’t had off – since I pretty much went straight from undergrad to graduate school!

    • I enjoy some days much better than others!!! I can’t help but feel a little lazy ;) But I know if I leave the house to go somewhere other than the pool or gym, I’ll spend money!!!!

Leave a Reply

