A New Beginning


So, I have been inspired!

Over the past few months I have been reading health, fitness, and well being blogs. They are inspiring, informational, and just-plain-fun!

A few I have followed every day for the past 3 months are The Fitnessista and Oh She Glows. Both of these girls are truly amazing, and I can’t get over the wealth of information they share, and the insight they give to so many topics for which I also share a passion.

I have been toying around with the idea of starting a blog of my own for about 5 months now. As you can tell from my earlier posts, I wasn’t quite sure which direction to take (teaching, nature, what?!?!).

I knew I wanted to write, and I knew I wanted to use the blog as a source to bring about some sort of inner happiness and creative release.  But after reading Gina and Angela’s posts and comments, I knew that it might also help bring me into a network of “friends” that I might learn from and be inspired by.  We can learn so much from one another! 

I teach my students that writing every day is what makes you a better writer, and I expect them to do this without any whining! Now it is my turn to practice what I preach.

I’ve decided to turn this blog into a daily diary about working toward finding a balance of happiness and health in all aspects of my life: relationships, physical health, mental health, career goals, etc.

I’m currently reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. She cites research that describes how “challenge and novelty are key elements to happiness.” The way she chose to add these aspects to her life was to begin a blog. She, much like me, knew absolutely nothing about beginning a blog, but her journey brought her much happiness and pride.

I ask you to bear with me as I learn the ropes of blogging! I’m sure the first few posts will be aesthetically dis-pleasing as I am not yet sure how to add photographs or make the page look very pretty. But I am on a mission, and hopefully you’ll check back later and see how this is progressing! 

I’ve already got a few ideas for future posts including, but not limited to: my decision to become a vegetarian, exercising with an injury (foot surgery = yuck!), finishing my masters (and now what?), clean eating, marriage and babies (yikes!), and so much more!

 
Thought to Ponder
How did you begin your blog? Do you have any tips, suggestions, or resources you recommend?
~Jen
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A New Beginning

  1. Meg

    This is an inspiration to all us wannabes!!! Keep going and SHARE!

Leave a Reply

