Takin' It Easy


After feeling great and wonderful about getting back into light exercising yesterday, I must admit that today I am feeling some pain.  I was supposed to meet Larry at the gym for a bit of cardio on the recumbent bike, and some upper body weight lifting, but I just couldn’t do it.  

Being on my feet all day keeping up with 22 third graders put a strain on my foot, and my body was telling me NO.  So I made the decision to listen to my body, and take the day off.  I do not want to risk sustaining an injury that will keep me off of my feet any longer than I have to. 

Because I can not work out as much as I am used to, I have been trying to eat as clean as possible.  

For breakfast this morning, I had some oatmeal.  

 

I used to love eating the pre-packaged and pre-flavored instant oatmeal that comes in the little brown paper packages.  However, it would take about four of those little brown packages to fill me up, and I would never stay full for very long.  I was afraid to try the plain oats because they look so plain and boring…  and isn’t that what your granny eats for breakfast??? 

Trust me, this is waaaaaaaay better!  The servings are larger, it is better for you, and it keeps you full until lunch! 

-1/3 cup oats 

-1/2 cup soy milk (or whatever kind you drink) 

-1 smashed up banana 

-2 tablespoons organic peanut butter 

-1 handful of raisins 

Mix it all up.  Pop it in the microwave for 2 minutes.   Restir.  Enjoy!  

My lunch was just as tasty!  I had a leftover Sweet Potato Black Bean Burrito.  Yummmm. 

  

  

I made this last night for dinner (while Larry had the more traditional ground turkey, refried bean style burritos).  These were so good I can not even tell you, and they were super easy to make.  This recipe is also adapted from Clean Cooking by Terry Walters.  I was not lying when I told you I LOVE this cookbook! 

For 6 burritos (I have a lot leftover!) 

-3 sweet potatoes 

-3 tablespoons of lime juice 

-1 1/2 cup black beans 

-1/2 cup frozen corn 

-1/4 cup salsa (or more if you like it spicy!) 

– slivers of Monterey jack cheese (optional) 

-6 tortillas 

Bake the sweet potatoes for about 40-45 minutes at 400 F.  Boil about a cup of water to pour over the frozen corn (just to thaw it out).  When the potatoes are done baking, peel them out of the skin (they should come out extremely easy) and mash them with a fork.  Fold in the black beans, corn and salsa.  Spoon into tortillas and top with slivers of cheese.  Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes or until the tortillas are slightly brown and crispy on the edges.  I also put a dalop of reduced fat Daisy on top.  You will not be disappointed!  I can’t wait to eat another one for lunch tomorrow! 

For dinner tonight, we are having hearty-heart healthy Golden Split Pea Soup (recipe to come) and grilled cheeses.  It smells delicious.  I’ll let you know how it turns out!  

Larry and I have decided that we are just going to kick-back and relax this evening.  This will probably consist of wearing comfy fleece pants, a large Hometown sweatshirt, and watching Netflix reruns of our new favorite series “Chuck!”    

What do you like to do on your kick-back and relax evenings? 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

