Crazy, Dumb-Dumb Award


Today started out lovely.  The weather was so bad that Larry got to stay home from work.  He works every Saturday, so this was an extra special treat!  We slept in until about 8 AM, and then we got up to make waffles.

I followed a regular ol’ waffle recipe, but I substituted the following:

  • 2 egg whites instead of 1 whole egg
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour instead of waffleswhite flour
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce instead of 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar instead of 2 tbsp white sugar

I topped mine with one smashed banana, 1 tablespoon almond butter, and a whole bunch of cinnamon (I accidentally dumped it out of the big hole instead of sprinkling it!).  Larry went the old fashioned route with warm maple syrup.

Then we got an incredibly crazy idea! 

I got a hankering for some duck boots, so I could play in the snow, and Larry wanted a snow shovel, so he doesn’t have to use the digging shovel he has been using.  So, we did what turned out to be the first slightly dumb move of the day.  We jumped into his truck and drove to Lowes and Wally-World.  (Don’t worry, Mama Bush and Mama Sanders!  We made it there and back safely!) 

On the way there I realized that I hadn’t charged my camera battery (dumb- dumb move numero dos).  So, all of the pics into today’s post are taken with my phone camera.  They actually turned out way better than I thought!

driving in the snow Here’s the nail biting ride to the stores!

Once at the store, we just couldn’t be stopped! We bought the dogs new bones, which they promptly began stealing from one another as soon as we got home.  Back and forth, back and forth.  We also  bought Dallas a Fling It Ball Thrower Thing-a-ma-jig.  We bought enough logs to keep a fire going for a few days (central heat is for sissies! ;)), a new snow shovel, but no duck boots.  Duck Boots were simply no where to be found. 😦

I did get this incredibly awesome herb garden!  🙂grow your own gardenAfter spending what seems like a ka-zillion dollars on fresh herbs at the grocery store, I finally bought a planter to grow my own.  This kit includes cilantro (my one true love), basil, oregano, chives, and parsley.

It may be snowing outside, but that didn’t stop me from trying on my Gardner Jen pants. 

planting herb garden  

 

I stuck that baby in the sink and got down and dirty

 

 

 in the sun

 

Now, we wait to see if I have a green thumb, or if I just bought a really pretty blue pot full of red soil.      

 

 

 Here is the most incredible Dumb-Dumb move of the day. 

After coming in from running around like crazy in the snow with Dallas (wearing Larry’s work boots), I changed into a gi-normous sweat shirt, pajama pants and slippers.  Though, that’s not the dumb part. 

The dumb part was when I saw the mail lady pulling in front of our house, and I did not go out to meet her.  Instead, I danced around the house singing, “P90X is finally here!  We’re going to get so buff!”  in the most sing-songy voice imaginable!

I thought she was leaving the package on the porch.  Not so, my friends.  Not so.  Instead she left us a pretty pink slip of paper that said “Sorry We Missed You.” 

Now we have to wait ‘till Monday.  Oh, well!  At least we know we can start next week! 

For the rest of the day, I plan on sitting by the fire reading Percy Jackson with my wonderful husband, and listening to the dogs galloping around upstairs stealing each other’s bones.

Happy (Snowy) Saturday! And in the words of my Yogi Tea tag, “Take time to enjoy this moment.”  

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Crazy, Dumb-Dumb Award

  1. Kim

    I too am reading Percy Jackson (book 3) thanks to Meg while sitting by the fire. I love snow days!

  2. Elizabeth

    Rosemary is a very easy herb to grow, too. Very hands off and hardy….and yummy!

  3. I love rosemary! Doesn’t it grow like a bush?? Is it something I could grow indoors?

Leave a Reply

