It’s Here! It’s Here! It’s Finally Here!


P90X finally arrived in the mail today!  That makes the official start of The Sanders Get Beach Buff Bodies begins tomorrow, Thursday, February, 11, 2010 at 7:00 PM!

I am a bit nervous!  Push-ups and pull-ups have never been my forte, and they are pretty much what the first day consists of.  However, as I said earlier, I AM NOT A QUITTER!  If my biggest accomplishment from this experience is being able to do one well formed pull-up, then I will be perfectly happy. 

And if I don’t end up looking exactly like this guyP90X - Jon C., well,  I’m perfectly OK with that, also!

Check back later for full reviews! 

This afternoon, Larry and I went to the gym to do this powerful leg work out.

Leg Workout 2/10/10

We don’t typically do cardio on leg days, because we really like to fatigue our leg muscles.  Our last set of each exercise is done super slow to optimize muscle growth.

For dinner tonight we went to Chili’s, which we haven’t done in a LOOOONG time.  However, we received a gift card for x-mas, and I love having someone cook for me occasionally!  Although Larry does grill out for me on occasion, our grill is currently under 4-6 inches of thick, white snow and/or ice.

I don’t really like to eat out at restaurant chains, because the options can be next to nil for vegetarians, and what they do serve is usually high in calories, fat, and sodium.  However, tonight I was pleasantly pleased.

I ordered a black bean burger with just avocado slices. 

Initially, the waitress did kinda look at me like I was crazy for not wanting cheese or any kind of sauce.  But then she asked if I wanted a smaller wheat bun than the original size to cut calories, and if I wanted steamed veggies instead of fries (of course not!).  When each of us ordered she offered us healthier options.  This has never happened before!

I don’t know if I set a precedent by ordering first, but everyone seemed to order something healthier than what was offered on the menu.

It was funny; however, when our orders came and the serving sizes seemed smaller than usual.  I thought the boys were going to throw fits by the small portions they were served. 

I didn’t bring my camera to take a picture (I have to get used to this food blogging thing), but you would have been surprised, too.  Our plates weren’t overflowing with fatty foods.  Instead we were served perfectly proportioned meals that didn’t leave us overstuffed and ready to keel over. 

Whether it was budget cuts, or portion control we’ll never know.  But one thing is for sure, we definitely ate healthier than we normally do when eating out at chain restaurants. 

I’ll close with my last bit of exciting news: 

Richmond’s 

8th Annual CBS 6 Healthy Lifestyle Expo!

Presented By:

  • Saturday, February 13th, 2010
  • 10am – 4PM
  • Richmond Convention Center
  • Special Guest: Chef Nathan Lyon

The CBS 6 Healthy Lifestyle Expo provides a one-stop health care learning experience for metro Richmond. Promoting healthy living and total wellness, the expo features fitness and cooking demonstrations as well as health screenings, product demonstrations and and access to a multitude of health and wellness experts. Almost 5,000 central Virginians attended the 2009 show and the 2010 show promises to be the best yet!

I can’t wait!  Click here for more information.  Who’s with me????

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

“You accomplish victory step by step, not by leaps and bounds.” – Lyn St. James

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

