And the winner is…


Congratulations to Commenter #8: Emily Patrouch!!!!!

The numbers generated by this widget come from RANDOM.ORG’s true random number generator.

(I used True Random Number Generator to pick the winner.  They have cool looking widgets, but for some reason it’s not showing up in the post.  Anyone know how to make this work using Windows Live Writer?)

Emily said:

Comment on Ode to My Body by Emily Patrouch

Today, February 22, 2010, 55 minutes ago | Emily PatrouchGo to full article

I LOVED this post….of course not about your surgery, pain and recovery but about your acceptance. I had to have a c-section and it devastated me, absolutely devastated me. How could I not give birth? Something that is supposed to be natural, something that my body was designed to do? But in time I learned it was my duty to get my child in to this world as healthy as I could. My scar lets me know that I did just that. I am pretty lucky in that my doctor did a great job, it’s actually a beautiful scar (if there is such a thing!). I think with life happening around us it’s hard sometimes to find self-worth when you aren’t a size 1 or wearing the latest fashion trend. But reading blogs like yours can really help a gal out! Thanks Jen!

Emily, send your mailing address to JenSanders52 at comcast dot net, and I’ll order your year subscription to Shape Magazine ASAP!  Congrats again!

Thank you to everyone for all of the wonderful comments!  Each and every comment was such an inspiration! 

Here are some highlights and common themes among the comments about learning to love your body:

1)  Most women feel most beautiful when they are active.

2) We need to stop comparing ourselves to others, and  learn to love the skin we are in.

3) Our bodies are incredibly strong and capable.  They pull us through surgeries, marathons, and child birth.  We should take the time to be good to them 🙂

I began writing this blog as a creative way to express myself, to become a better writer for my students, and to chronicle my day to day happenings.  But it has turned out to be so much more than just an online journal! 

It’s conversations like the one presented in the giveaway that truly cause me to slow down, and do some serious reflection.  I’ve never taken the time to think about loving my body, much less stopping to appreciate it.   

This may sound corny, but I’m beginning to feel a little lighter.  Not lighter like I’ve lost ten pounds and the scale is my new best friend.  But I feel lighter when I walk… like there isn’t such a tremendous weight on my shoulders.  I’ve been breathing deeper, and things just seem brighter. 

Please feel free to comment on absolutely anything that you read on Happy Heart, Happy Mind.  Your comments give me more opportunities to stop and reflect just a bit more!  We can learn so much from one another.

Check back later tonight for Taco Pie recipes suitable for both carnivores and herbivores!  

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

