Taco Pie


After a 90 minute extreme power yoga video, I finally mustered up my remaining strength to make dinner. 

That is after I laughed at the video instructor for ohming way louder than necessary for the last 2 minutes of the video…  in leggings way too tight for ANY man!!!

Dinner Tonight = Taco Pie.

DSC01267

In college, my aunt made this delish dish full of cheese and pure fattening yumminess.  I quickly learned how to replicate, and it became a most often requested dish for special occasions (Read– super FANCY ZTA date parties 😉 ) 

For the Larry version you need:

  • 1 pound lean ground turkey
  • 1 package taco seasoning
  • 1 package of Mexican or Taco Rice (to be a bit on the healthier side use brown rice)
  • about 4 whole wheat tortillas
  • taco cheese
  • salsa for spreading
  • sour cream

Cook rice according to package.  Meanwhile, brown the ground turkey in a pan.  Add the taco seasoning and 2/3 cup of water.  Simmer on low heat until the water is reduced.  Once the rice is done combine and mix it with the ground turkey. 

Spread a thin layer of salsa on the bottom of a square baking dish.  Top with a tortilla, then meat mixture, and cheese.  Repeat until you are all out of meat!

Bake in the oven until the cheese has melted.

Top with sour cream and enjoy! 🙂

Lately, I’ve had to pass up on the dish delicioso, because I wasn’t quite sure how to make it without meat.  Until now…

Remember when I made these babies???

Well, I decided to apply the same principal to the taco pie.

I baked 2 sweet potatoes in the oven at 425 for about 45 minutes.  The potatoes fell right out of their skin.  I then mixed the SPs with 2 cups of cooked black beans (I forgot to drain and rinse them, so the potato didn’t turn out so orange and pretty this time).  I also combined some leftover chopped red peppers and a few handfuls of spinach.  I then followed the above meat version layering method, but with the sweet potato mixture as the “meat,” and baked it along side Larry’s.  How sweet… 😉

DSC01263

I’m on a major mango kick, so I used Private Selection Mango Peach salsa. 

DSC01265

Almost as good as the original, but I highly recommend not forgetting to rinse and drain the beans before making. 

DSC01268

Next taco pie experiment = black beans and rice taco pie :) 

Enjoy your evening!!!!

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Taco Pie

  1. Um, I need that in my life immediately.

  2. Yummy yummy! I LOOOOVE Mexican food, and your tacos look delish!

Leave a Reply

