Takin’ it Easy


Like I said last night, is it Friday yet?!??!?

We haven’t been able to go outside for recess in almost a month because of the cold, the melting snow, and the mud.  If anyone has ever been trapped in a classroom full of 8 and 9 year olds for six hours a day, five days a week, then you must understand my need for the weekend!!!

I decided to take it easy today.  I looked at my Fitness Log, and realized that I have only taken off five days the entire month of February.  My body is getting toned, but it is also getting very sore.

I joined some friends for a happy hour and enjoyed a little brewsky.

  

I almost never drink beer, but tonight I was in the need for something light.  Having a glass of wine would have made me a little too relaxed, if you know what I mean, and I had errands to run and papers to grade.

I also munched on some chips and salsa. 

These made me very thirsty!!!

Tonight we are even going to make an easy dinner.  Larry is going to have a lean burger grilled on our Foreman, and I am going to have another Quorn chik’n patty with TJ’s BBQ sauce.  I think I may be in love!  And because you can’t have a “burger” without fries, I am going to broil unseasoned fries until they are nice and crispy.  Doesn’t get much better than that! 

   George agrees!

Have a wonderful night! 

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Takin’ it Easy

  1. Jill

    Jen, how do you find the motivation? I come home and I am exhausted….let alone exercise and cooking dinner for a family of four! I have missed every workout this week and despite being home with a sick kid today, I STILL couldn’t find the motivation to work out! Am I missing something? Any advice on motivating myself?

    • I come home exhausted all the time! However, I don’t have any children so it is a bit easier for me. I honestly don’t always feel like working out, but I make myself do it anyway, because I know I will feel good after I do it. I use the 5 minute rule. If after 5 minutes of a workout, I still don’t feel like working out, I can stop. I very rarely stop. It just feels too good once I’ve started! 🙂 I also plan my meals out for two weeks, so that I don’t have to think about what to make for dinner every night.

      One thing that really helped get me started on a regular routine was to work out every day for three weeks. I marked these on a calendar, so I could track what I was doing. I didn’t do hardcore workouts every day. But I would take different classes at the gym, go for long walks with the dogs, ride a bike, etc. so that I was doing something every day no matter how small or big. Eventually, it got to a point where I didn’t want to miss a workout. It really does boost my mood, increase my energy, and makes me an all around happier person!

      Start small, track your progress, and enjoy the endorphins! Use them to your advantage!

Leave a Reply

