Sunday Eats, Monday Cheats


Hello!  How was your Monday???

Mine was a bit different from the productive and relaxing Sunday of yesterday.

Yesterday morning, Larry and I woke up late, and ate a delicious breakfast of Chocolate Blueberry Pancakes.  Sounds decadent, huh? 

  (Not a pic of mine… I ate mine too quickly to remember to take one!)

Well, it sure was tasty, but as usual, I swapped out a few ingredients to help make it a bit cleaner ;)  I always get a sugar crash an hour or two after eating pancakes or waffles, so I added a bit of protein and fiber to make these more filling and lasting. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg white
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 almond milk
  • 2 scoops chocolate protein mix
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened all-natural applesauce
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries

Whip the egg white with mixer until light and frothy.  Add the rest of the ingredients and mix until well blended.  Fold in the blueberries.

Spray non-stick cooking spray onto a heated griddle.  Spoon about 1/4 cup batter onto hot griddle. 

DSC01300

Once the pancakes are bubbly on top, puffed and dry around the edges, flip them suckas.  Cook until both sides are golden brown.

DSC01301

Top it off with a sliver of REAL butter (no chemicals for me, please), and a bit of maple syrup!  Decadent, yes indeed!

After cleaning the house tirelessly, and doing 45 minutes of cardio circuits, I made a lunch Green Monster to die for!  You know how I’ve been on this mango kick?!?!  Well, Mama Bush hooked me up with a bunch of mangos, and these  babies got blended.

DSC01303

 

 

 

  Just look at those colors!

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • 4 cups cooked spinach
  • 1 sliced mango
  • 1/2 cup frozen peaches
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries (from TJ’s!!!)
  • 1 old and semi-brown banana
  • 2 scoops chocolate protein powder
  • 1 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons flax seed
  • a hand full of ice

DSC01306

I may, or may not, have sipped this so fast that I had about 3 ice cream headaches!  Ouch!  But yum!  Oh, the yin and yangs of life! 

I bought this awesome mango splitter from Target (you can also buy it from Amazon here).  Makes life so much easier!

We then went out for an early dinner at a local hibachi grill.

Where I munched on clear soup, salad with ginger dressing, grilled veggies, and fried rice.  It was a bit naughty, but it was worth it!

Then we finally watched the Percy Jackson movie.  It was a good movie, but I was so disappointed at how incredibly different it was from the book.  Even the plot was different! 

Today I have had an aching headache all day.  I have eaten 3 Hershey Miniatures and probably about two full cups of dried fruit.  It was just mindless eating, and it made me feel AWFUL!

I think I’ll take the day off from working out, drink a ton of water, and see if the ache my dome will go away!  Hopefully it’s the Monday blues, and I’m not catching whatever caused three students to be out today! 

Enjoy the rest of your Monday! 

 

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sunday Eats, Monday Cheats

  1. Pancakes are the BEST way to start the day! Yours look fab.

Leave a Reply

