Overnight Oats


You know that feeling of frustration you get when you grab an empty nut butter jar and you have to scrape the sides for the last smears of nutty spread?  Your fingers get covered.  The knife doesn’t work well against the round curve of the jar.  And your wrist starts to hurt.  (um, yes.  I do really love nut butter.)

Well, struggle no longer, my friends!  I have discovered the perfect way to get to that last bit of butter!

Overnight Oats!

overnight oats

I’ve seen this creation on many blogs.  Yesterday, I finally made it to the bottom of my peanut butter jar.  I could finally give it a try!

Before going to bed, I mixed 1/2 cup old fashioned oats, 1/2 cup almond milk, a LOT of cinnamon, 1 smushed banana, 2 tablespoons flax seed oil, and a handful of goji berries.  I stirred, and stirred, and stirred, then screwed the lid back on and set it in the fridge for the night. 

It’s a good thing they say breakfast is the most important meal of the day, because it is my absolute favorite!  Now I can add overnight oats to my long list of reasons to love breakfast  :)  Yum!

So, who’s wondering what goji berries are?  Flax seed oil?  Anyone heard of Evening Primrose Oil???

These are just a few of the healthy additions I’ve added to my diet in the past week. 

Goji Berry Goji Berries

Goji berries are bright orange red berries that have grown on shrubs native to China for thousands of years.  They have long been used in traditional medicine for longevity, but recent research has found that they are beneficial for boosting immune function, protecting vision, and helping to prevent heart disease. 

They are full of antioxidants, which may slow the signs of aging by minimizing damage to your cells caused by free radicals. 

According to my new bag of Navitas Naturals Goji Power Goji Berries they are “one of the most nutrient-rich foods on earth.  It is a vegetarian form of protein, packed with essential amino acids, rich in vitamin A and a good source of vitamin c.  Goji berries possess over 20 trace minerals and vitamins including zinc, iron, phosphorus, riboflavin (B2), vitamin E as well as carotenoids, including beta-carotene.”   

I’ve also begun using Barlean’s Organic Flax Oil

and Source Naturals Evening Primrose Oil.

bottleshot

Each month I get the same darn pimples in the same darn spot at the same darn time.  It’s SO frustrating.  I confided in a friend who recommended these supplements. 

Flax Oil is shown to improve:

      • Heart Health*
      • Healthy Cholesterol Levels*
      • Joint Mobility & Bone Density*
      • Energy & Endurance*
      • Healthy Blood Glucose*
      • Skin, Hair & Nail Health*

It contains high levels of omega 3s and omega 6 essential fatty acids, which have been shown to improve the health of skin.  (I have; however, heard that flaxseed oil is dangerous for men to take as it has  been shown to increase the chances of getting prostate cancer.)

Evening Primrose Oil is used to naturally treat:

  • rashes caused by allergies
  • eczema
  • PMS
  • arthritis

It also contains omega 3s and omega 6s, and it is the balance between these fatty acids that promote improved health. 

I’ve never taken supplements such as these before, but I want to give it a try!  At this point, I’d try anything!  I’ll let you know how it goes!

Have you ever used flaxseed oil or evening primrose oil?  Did you see any improvements in your skin or other areas of your health?

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Overnight Oats

  1. Danielle

    I’ve never used either oils but I do love my flaxseed 😀

    I think the blog world has given me a new appreciation for breakfast!

  2. Alicia

    I have used flaxseed oil and have noticed that my digestive health improved. (It kept my insides cleaner). I also noticed that my nails and hair were much stronger and shinier. I’m not sure about improvements to my skin because I started using Arbonne around the same time so it could have been either or a combo of both!!

    I found that it’s easier for me to just throw a handful of milled flaxseed into my oatmeal or a smoothie instead of worrying about the oil. I think the seeds are more versatile as far as recipes and it turns out being cheaper for me. I also feel like I get the same benefits 🙂

  3. Flax and omega oils improve joint health, hair, skin, nails. Also it has been proven to help reduce the dark adipose tissue around the abdominal, buttocks, and thighs.

    Omega should be a staple of everyones diet.

Leave a Reply

