Sunny Sunday


Hello!  I hope you have enjoyed your weekend, and I hope  you have spent some time outdoors in the beautiful March weather!

Yesterday was a fun and eventful day full of girly entertainment!

I started the day off by procrastinating from doing all of my to-dos.  I finally did an hour of kickboxing, though I definitely wanted to stop half way through the workout.

Lesson #1 of the day: Eat before you do intense workouts. 

I ended up finishing the workout and found a second wind near the end, but I do know next time I will not attempt to do this workout without some type of fuel. 

After working out and tidying up the house a bit, I threw together the snacks for the Arbonne Party. 

DSC01324

There was a veggie tray with yellow and red peppers, baby carrots, cucumbers and TJ’s garlic hummus,

DSC01322

a Gouda Cheese Assortment and TJ’s party crackers,

DSC01317

and TJ’s sea salted pita chips and a variety of TJ’s hummus. 

DSC01323

I also made homemade guacamole, which is an easy and clean recipe anyone can make!

DSC01321

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe avocados
  • 1 small red onion
  • Juice from 2 1/2 limes
  • Juice from 1 small orange
  • 2 medium red tomatoes halved and deseeded
  • 2 Serrano chilies
  • 3/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Grill or broil the tomatoes and the Serrano chilies until the skins are bubbly and slightly blackened.  Chop the tomatoes.  Remove skin and seeds from Serrano chilies.  Chop the Serrano chilies. 

Smush avocados in a medium sized bowl with a fork.  Add the tomatoes, chilies, juice from limes and oranges, cilantro, salt, and onion.  Mix well and refrigerate for up to 8 hours before serving.

It was a bit oniony, and I have the breath to prove it ;)  If you’re not an onion fan, you may want to only use half of a small onion.

Once Kelly arrived, she set up the table with all of her goods.

DSC01325

My mom won the tub with pretty green ribbon filled Aromassentials Awaken Salt Scrub in a raffle, and I won the big box in the middle just for throwing the party!!!

DSC01333

Lesson #2 of the day: Everything we put on our skin goes into the bloodstream.

That’s one of the reasons I’m so smitten with Arbonne.  They do not use any mineral oils, lanolin, collagen, chemical dyes or fragrances, SD40 Alcohol, alcohols, free radicals, or animal by products.  If you concerned about the quality of the food you consume, it is also important to think about the quality of ingredients you add to your bloodstream through the products you use. 

Do you know of any product lines that follow a similar philosophy?

After the party, my mom, aunt, and I headed downtown for dinner.  We visited Balliceaux (pronounced bally-so).  This restaurant follows a farm to fork philosophy that incorporates fresh, local ingredients.  They even make their cocktails with fresh berries and fresh squeezed juices.  My aunt had a martini that was mind blowingly good! 

Dinner was beyond delicious!  I got the panko crusted “twin oaks” tofu
house made kim chee and an orange blossom sauce.  It was simply out of this world.  It’s funny, too, because yesterday morning I was reading Brittany’s, and she mentioned this locally made tofu that I had never heard of before. 

tofu

Lesson #3 of the day: I simply must try to recreate this dish at home! 

Today, Larry and I took the dogs to the park to enjoy the beautiful sixty degree weather.  They are all tuckered out now and living dog’s life!

DSC01329

We are going to extend our enjoyment of this spectacular weather and grill out for dinner tonight :)  Can’t wait! 

How did you enjoy the wonderful weather??? 

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sunny Sunday

  1. It looks like your party was a hit. I haven’t heard of it, till I have read your blog, and for someone who doesn’t wear much makeup to begin with, it sounds like something I would like!! 🙂

    • I have actually never purchased or used any of the makeup items. Most of the party, and what I’ve used, is the skin care line. It feels good to be using something that I know is good for my skin and the environment 🙂

Leave a Reply

