Happy Belated St. Patty’s Day!


Sorry for not posting last night!  I was beat!  That stomach bug wore me out!  Not only did I not post, but I was so tired, I went to bed without taking my contacts out!  Talk about waking up with dry eyes!!!!

I thought I’d do a recipe post today of last night’s dinner.  It’s been a while since I’ve posted any recipes and this one is definitely worth trying!

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia and Basmati Rice Pilaf

DSC01383

Parmesan tilapia has become one of Larry’s favorite fish dishes, and it is SO quick and easy!  I love when he loves the simple stuff 😉

First rinse and pat two tilapia filets dry.  Place the fish on a foil lined baking sheet.  Drizzle a little olive oil over the filets and sprinkle them with garlic salt and parmesan shaky cheese.  Broil them for about 10-15 minutes until they flake away with a fork.

For the basmati rice, cook the rice according to the package.  I used Trader Joe’s Brown Basmati Rice.  While the rice is boiling (it takes about 40 minutes), mince a bunch of kale, dice half of a yellow onion, and chop a whole red pepper.

DSC01376

Heat a medium sized sauté pan over medium heat and spray with olive oil.  Sauté the veggies until tender. 

Once the rice is finished, add it to the sauté pan and gently mix.  Drizzle with olive oil and season with a dash of sea salt.

DSC01378

Told ya it was a simple dinner!

I had mine with the infamous Morning Star (and highly processed) Chicken Patty with glorious, all natural TJ’s BBQ sauce.  (I know!  I know!  After all that preachin’ about Wheat Thins.  I’ve really gotta find a better alternative!)

DSC01384

The basmati rice pilaf was a newbie for me, but I have to say, it turned out pretty awesome.  I used to just make plain old rice with a little olive oil and salt, but now I’ve discovered that just adding a few veggies can make it SO much better!

And just so you know, basmati rice is a healthier rice option, because it has a lower glycemic index than regular white or brown rice. 

Some carbohydrates break down quickly during digestion and release glucose rapidly into the blood stream.  (Ever been hungry an hour after eating a Poptart???)  These foods are considered to be high on the glycemic index. 

Foods with a low GI break down slowly, and they gradually release glucose into the bloodstream.  This leaves you feeling fuller longer. 

Here’s a chart that lists foods according to their GI range. 

Classification GI range Examples
Low GI 55 or less most fruits and vegetables (except potatoes and watermelon), grainy breads, pasta, legumes/pulses, milk, yogurt, products extremely low in carbohydrates (some cheeses, nuts), fructose
Medium GI 56–69 whole wheat products, basmati rice, sweet potato, table sugar
High GI 70 and above corn flakes, rice krispies, baked potatoes, watermelon, croissants, white bread, extruded breakfast cereals, most white rices (e.g. jasmine), straight glucose (100)

( Source)

But enough of why basmati rice is good for you!!!!  Here’s another reason to make it: It smells like popcorn while it’s cooking! 🙂

Hope you enjoy these super simple recipes!  I’m going to go for a long run (well, as long as my foot will take me) in the beautiful almost spring weather!!!! 

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy Belated St. Patty’s Day!

  1. Thanks for the information on basmati rice! I’ve actually never made it before, but now I definitely will. 🙂

Leave a Reply

