When Are You Your Calmest?


I am at my calmest while sitting on a Carolina beach listening to the crashing waves break against the sandy shore.  I feel a great sense of calm and peacefulness as the wind gently whips at my sun warmed skin, and as I marvel at the never ending horizon before me.

 

I could sit on the beach all day long and never get bored or tired.  It is during these moment that I am truly at a sense of being.  My thoughts are quiet.  There is no tension in my upper shoulders.  I am calm.

Unfortunately, trips to the OBX come only about once or twice a year (if I’m lucky).   I relish every second of these week long vacations, and as soon as I’m over the bridge back on the mainland, the countdown begins to our next trip. 

There are times in my life, like those weeks at the beach, when I am at a happier state of being than others.  But why can’t we have a sense of calm every day?  Why do we have to wait for a vacation week to feel peaceful?

Lately, I have been thinking about the triggers that cause me stress and/or tension , and I have been working on finding ways to eliminate any unnecessary stressors in an effort to bring about more moments of calm. 

This is not easy to do.  You can not simply be happy and calm and peaceful.  You have to work at it.  You have to be aware of your thoughts.  You have to push away negativity and embrace any glimpse of positive thinking you can muster, even in the darkest, or most hectic of times. 

Tonight I’ve decided to make a list of activities that help me to feel calm.  Here’s what I’ve come up with:

1) Sitting or walking on a beach.

2) Getting lost in a good book.

3) Running, walking, hiking, or biking outdoors.

4) Laying in bed awake on Sundays before everyone else wakes up.  I love the quiet.

5) Writing.

6) Pampering myself with a manicure, pedicure, facial, or hair appointment.

After much thought, I’ve decided to keep the list short and sweet, so as to only include those activities that truly bring about a sense of calm.  I do not have to work at feeling calm while participating in any of the above mentioned activities.  It just kind of naturally happens. 

The work is now finding ways to more frequently incorporate these activities into my daily routines. 

As I look at the list, I’m surprised at how easy several of the activities actually are to do.  It should not be difficult to go to the library and check out a good book to get lost in each week.  Or to take the dogs for a long walk at a park a few times a week.  I’ve already begun writing more regularly.  And I know I can lay in bed every Sunday if I want. The pampering appointments and beach vacations may be less frequent, but that just makes them all the more special 🙂

Life is short, my friends, and I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to waste away the days feeling stressed and tense.  So, here’s to finding time to do the things that bring you peace of mind.

What activities bring you a true sense of calm?  How often do you feel this way?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “When Are You Your Calmest?

  1. Great post!

    I am not naturally calm or easy-going. It’s exactly like you said – I really have to work on cultivating calm and peace…I have to MAKE IT HAPPEN. Some activities that bring me a sense of peace are hiking, reading a really engaging novel, and cuddling with my husband. 🙂

    • It’s great to hear that others have to work at it as well. It makes me wonder about those people who seem so naturally calm all the time. Do they still have to work at it, or have they worked at for so long that it has just become second nature?

  2. Emily Patrouch

    Bubble baths are my go to for relaxation, stress relief, relieving pain, and general well being!!! I too love a good weekend lay in bed session with the window slightly open….oh how I long for those days!

Leave a Reply

