March Madness


And by March Madness, I do not mean the basketball tournament (although at times that did play a part).  I’m talking about how insanely busy the month of March has been.

They say March comes in like a lion and goes out like a lamb.  This year I don’t think the saying is referring to the weather.  I think it is referring to the month’s activity level!  I started the month off with an Arbonne Party, which was a HUGE success.  I then went out of town  2 weekends in a row: once for a visit to the White House, and once for a Bachelorette Party.  Larry and I both got an awful case of a third grade stomach bug.  I missed three days of work: one for being sick, one for the bachelorette party, and one for a Reading Olympics Competition at school.  There were cookouts and giveaways.  All in all, a very hectic month.

In February, I worked out almost every single day.  I ate healthy, clean and wholesome foods, and I felt wonderful.  This was not the case for March.  I worked out less, and ate a lot more junk than I usually do.  I also did not have enough time to write as much as I wanted.  Because on most days I was rushing, I feel that the quality of my writing also suffered.   

Part of me wants to feel guilty about the pitiful workout schedule I followed and the extra junk I ate.  But that would contradict everything I have said on this blog since I started writing in the middle of January.

Life is not one fluid stream that gently flows in one direction at a constant pace.  It is an ebb and flow.  It can sometimes rush, and it can sometimes flood.  In order to be happy and healthy, we must learn to literally go with the flow.  Life eventually mellows out, and will once again become calm and fluid.

river

As March draws to a close, I vow to go with the flow to get back on track.  Since the weather is warming, and all I want to do is spend time outside, I vow to reignite my relationship with running, and to take the dogs for more frequent walks.  I vow to make time to do the things that make me happy like writing and reading.  I vow to be more careful about the foods that I put into my body.  I will not beat myself up over a few slip ups.  I vow to be happy and healthy. 

Come on April, bring those showers!  I’m ready for you (and the May flowers)!

 Goals for April:

  • Up my running mileage
  • Begin a small garden
  • Join a CSA (more on this later!)
  • Increase the frequency and quality of writing on Happy Heart, Happy Mind

How do you handle setbacks and a busy schedule?  Do you have any goals for the upcoming month???

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “March Madness

  1. JennS

    I think you should give yourself a pat on the back for doing so well in February. Everyone falls off the horse. You just need to get back on and try it again. That is what I do. I also try and give myself a little motivation by listening to a FREE call every Friday on the website http://unleashyourself.com. Sherri Nickols is a life coach and has some wonderful, fun and motivating tips to help women stay in touch with their feminine and keep their spark. She even has a monthly teleseminar that I am going to attend in May called How to Find & Own Your Playful Sexy Self. I am really looking forward to some more motivation. Great post! I really enjoyed reading it.

Leave a Reply

