A Day’s Worth of Clean Eats


The eats were pretty clean today.  I’m rather proud of myself 🙂

I started off with a Purple Monster Shake that I shared with Larry around 6:45 AM.

DSC01279

  • -3 cups cooked spinach (nuked in water for 5 mins)
  • -1.5 cups frozen blackberries and strawberries
  • -2 scoops chocolate Muscle Milk Light
  • -1.25 cups almond milk
  • -1 chopped banana
  • -1 tbsp flax oil (for me!  not, L-diggity since there is some controversy over whether or not it can cause prostate cancer)
  • -handful of ice cubes

Around 10:30 AM, I ate half of a whole wheat bagel with MaraNatha Raw Almond Butter.

[nsp-mnb092630.jpg]

The raw stuff took some getting used to due to the fact that it has NO ADDED SUGAR or SALT, but it has really grown on me.  Yum!

For lunch at Noon, I munched on a delicious sweet orange

and a Kashi Mayan Harvest Bake. 

When the kids left at 2:30, I ate a TLC Crunchy Granola Bars: Pumpkin Spice Flax to help fuel me for the gym.  (Maybe I should buy some stock in Kashi…)

Hero

And I am currently munching on Jen’s Staple Snack: Hummus and Mary’s Gone Crackers. 

DSC01285

 

But it was last night’s dinner eats that are really worth writing about.  You can find a link to the original Nathan Lyon recipe here at Discovery Health.com.   

Herb-Seared Crusted Tuna with Blackened Green Beans and Mango Salsa

2 1/4-pound tuna slices
1/4 cup each: Italian flat-leaf parsley, cilantro, mint
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)

Season tuna slices on both sides. Chop mint, parsley, cilantro, and pat into tuna slices. In a large sauté pan over medium-high heat with 1 tablespoon EVOO, sear quickly, 30 seconds on each side, depending upon the thickness of the tuna. Pull off to rest. Serve on a bed of blackened green beans, and top with mango sauce.

DSC01528

Blackened Green Beans
1/2 pound green beans, tips removed
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
1 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoons sesame seeds
Pepper to taste

In a medium sized pot 3/4-full with heavily salted water, blanch beans for three to five minutes depending upon thickness. Transfer to a bowl filled with ice water to stop the cooking process. Drain and set aside.

DSC01520(Look, ma!  Real Green Beans!!!  I snapped the ends off like grandma used to do!)

 

 

DSC01525

 

 

 

 

Blanching the Beans.

 

 

 

In a medium sauté pan over medium-high heat add 1 tablespoon EVOO and heat until shimmering. Add drained beans and sauté until heated through, for 1 minute. Add soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, toasted sesame seeds, and pepper. Sauté until almost dry.

 Mango Salsa
1 cup fresh mango, diced
1 red pepper, roasted on open flame until black, peeled and diced (I broiled mine in the oven until the skin turned black.  It peeled right off!)
1/3 cup red onion, diced small
1/2 small jalapeno pepper, seeded, gills removed, minced
3 tablespoons fresh cilantro, picked
1 fresh lime, squeezed
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
1 teaspoon kosher salt
A few good twists of black pepper

Combine all ingredients. Chill. Spoon over top or serve on side of tuna slices.

DSC01532

DSC01538  DSC01537

I ate my mango salsa over two thin black bean patties served with a side of blackened green beans!  My taste buds were totally and completely rocked!!!

DSC01545 DSC01541 DSC01543

This has to be one of my favorite dishes that I’ve made in a long time.  The beans were fresh.  The herbs were fresh.  The mango and red pepper and onion were fresh!  You just can’t beat that.  I’d like to make another big batch of the mango salsa and eat it with a spoon!!!!

***********************************

So there you have it, ladies and gentleman!  Last night I vowed to eat cleaner than I have in the past month, and to get back on the exercise train.  Just by writing it down typing it out, I was more careful about my food choices beginning with dinner last night.  I also took an hour long Body Step class at the gym with a friend, and plan to do the P90X Arms, Shoulders, and Abs workout tomorrow after work.

Sometimes writing your goals and plans down is all that it takes to make a move in the right direction.

Now off for a small dessert as a treat for all of my hard work.  Ice cream or a small slice of Larry’s leftover yellow cake.  Hmmm…… 😉

Are you a goal setter?  How do you hold yourself accountable for the goals you set??

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A Day’s Worth of Clean Eats

  1. Awesome eats! My mouth is watering looking at that tuna dish!

    I’m definitely a goal-setter, and like you said, writing it all out makes such a difference for me. I often have large goals that I break down into smaller ones, and I actually give myself mini deadlines for reaching them.

  2. The shake looks like it could be yummy, the spinach is the only thing that could make me stray away, can you taste the spinach at all after you
    make the shake?

    Sara

    • You can NOT taste the spinach… I PROMISE 🙂 Here’s what Wikipedia has to say about spinach’s nutritional value: “Nutrition
      Spinach has a high nutritional value and is extremely rich in antioxidants, especially when fresh, steamed, or quickly boiled. It is a rich source of vitamin A (and especially high in lutein), vitamin C, vitamin E, vitamin K, magnesium, manganese, folate, iron, vitamin B2, calcium, potassium, vitamin B6, folic acid, copper, protein, phosphorus, zinc, niacin, selenium and omega-3 fatty acids. Recently, opioid peptides called rubiscolins have also been found in spinach. It is a source of folic acid (Vitamin B9), and this vitamin was first purified from spinach. To benefit from the folate in spinach, it is better to steam it than to boil it. Boiling spinach for four minutes can halve the level of folate.[citation needed].”

  3. Heather

    Trader Joe’s Hummus is the best!! Love it! Be careful of Kashi, it is owned by Kellogg’s and they sometimes sneak a lot of sugar into their stuff under those different names you talked about a couple weeks ago. I know you look at the labels, so I am sure you are fine.

Leave a Reply

