Food and Your Mood


I love to eat!

I love to eat fruits and veggies and whole grains.  I love to eat ice cream and chocolate and cheese.  I look forward to meals.  I crave snacks.  And I savor every bite of scrumptious desserts.  Like I said, I LOVE to eat!

But some foods make me feel way better than other foods.  Sometimes I do not listen to my body, and I end up feeling crummy for the rest of the day, or sometimes for an entire evening.

Yesterday was one of those days.  As you may already know, I spent this weekend at my parents’ house.  I have four brothers who also love to eat.  Each one of my brothers is over 6 feet tall, and they each have a metabolism that should be studied by scientists

Because they are constantly in a state of “hunger,” my mom keeps the house stocked with every food imaginable.  She is a professional grocery shopper.  😉

I have a hard time resisting the temptation of many of these foods.  For instance, yesterday I started the day off with a piece of whole grain toast and peanut butter.  Then for lunch I had a cucumber and tomato sandwich, which doesn’t sound so bad; however,  I haven’t yet told you that I ate this with a huge helping of macaroni salad and a handful of Nilla Wafers. 

Not too, too awful yet, except I then proceeded to eat half a container of  spinach dip on Triscuits followed by a glass of Riesling. 

For dinner I ate a deliciously juicy portabella burger, and a WAY too big portion of, wait for it…

baked curly fries

I was definitely not hungry anymore when I ate a NO PUDGE brownie topped with French vanilla ice cream.

I do not have anything against any of the above mentioned foods. Everything I ate yesterday was delicious.  But at the end of the day I felt AWFUL.  Indulgence can sometimes be good, but indulging all day long is not.

I try very hard to follow a balanced approach to eating.  I try to eat clean, wholesome foods that are close to the source, but I do not turn down a birthday cupcake, or a helping of curly fries if that is what my body is craving.  I do not forbid myself from eating any one particular food

However, my experience yesterday led me to reflect on how important it is to listen to my body.  I need to pay better attention to how certain foods make me feel when I am finished eating.  I loved the taste of the spinach dip yesterday, and I could not stop eating it.  However, when I was finished, I felt sluggish and my stomach felt full and bloated.  I do not mean full like satisfied full, but full like I was ready to burst full. 

In her cookbook Clean Food, Terry Walters encourages readers to keep a food journal.  Not a journal where you record the calories and fat for every morsel that enters your mouth, but a journal that documents what you ate throughout the day and your emotional and physical outcomes.  By keeping a detailed journal like this, you may be able to track patterns and make positive changes for a more healthful life.

I certainly know that endless amounts of spinach dip led to an hour long nap and further indulgences throughout the evening.  I think I’ll avoid such copious amounts next time!       

The plan for today is to eat as clean as possible.  I think I’m going to try my hand at making Veggie Burgers That are Actually Made from Real Veggies for dinner tonight.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!! 

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Food and Your Mood

  1. Emily

    Isn’t it SO hard to stop eating something when it’s extremely tasty?!?!?!?! I always have to remind myself that it will still taste that good in a few hours when I am hungry again!

Leave a Reply

