Modern Day Piaget


(Thanks, Meg, for the witty post title!)

This morning as I got ready, I couldn’t help but smile.  I was as giddy as a school child anticipating a trip to an amusement park.  For today, I got to meet Katie Wood Ray.

IMG_4640

OK, I know some of you are thinking, Who?  And perhaps only teachers can understand the pure jubilation that can be felt by meeting such a master teacher.  She is, as Meg suggested, the modern day Piaget of teaching writing!

She is the reason I began this blog.  She is the reason I succeeded in completing my masters.  She is the kind of teacher and educator I aspire to be!   

katie wood ray

Today I was reminded of how important it is to follow your dreams.  Find what you are passionate about and go for it! 

As a young child, people would ask me, as they do to all small children, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”  I always responded with the same simple statement.  “A teacher.”

Though no one was directly discouraging, I remember my dad gently telling me that teachers don’t make a lot of money.  My aunt, who was a teacher for many years in Alexandria, told me I was pretty much crazy. 

This did not deter me. 

I remember watching my teachers in awe.  They knew so much!  I loved the way their voices sounded.  I loved the way they gave directions and held books as the read.  I loved their neat handwriting and kind words.  I knew I wanted to be one of them. 

And so I am.

I have other passions, also.  I love to write, and though I may not be the best author, I try to do it every day.  This brings me peace and makes me smile.

I love to run and workout.  I may not be the quickest or the strongest, but I try.

I love spending time with family and friends, and would one day love to start a family of my own.

I am so fortunate to be able to say that I am able to follow my passions every single day.  I hope that my happiness and passion is as apparent to others as Katie Wood Ray’s were to me. 

What are you passionate about?  Are you able to do the things that make you happy? 

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Modern Day Piaget

  1. Carole

    You are such a wonderful person!! Jack and I are blessed to have you in our lives!

  2. Elizabeth

    This whole post made me smile. It is such a simple, yet difficult, concept to do what makes you happy. Good for you for finding the way!

Leave a Reply

