Tofu, It’s What’s for Dinner


Today has been a day of random eats.  This morning I realized I had nothing to take for lunch, so I threw together a quick Quinoa Chickpea Salad.

DSC02091

I quickly boiled some Ancient Harvest Quinoa while I dried my hair.  I then chopped a cucumber and a few pitted olives.  When the quinoa had a few minutes to cool (and I do mean a few!), I added the cucumber, olives, and a can of drained and rinsed chickpeas.  Next, I tossed the mixture with a bit of olive oil, shredded parmesan, and balsamic vinaigrette. 

It wasn’t all that bad for a 15 minute throw together.  I wish I’d had some red peppers and feta cheese.  Maybe next time 😉

Tonight for dinner I also threw together a recipe out of the blue.  After eating the Tofu at Balliceaux last month, I knew I had to try and replicate this dish.  After doing much research, I discovered a new way to cook tofu: Dry Frying.

In order to give tofu its thick, firm texture, it is important to first remove as much of the moisture as possible.  In the past, I have always wrapped the tofu in paper towels and set an iron skillet on top to squeeze out the moisture.  Recently, however, I read an article that described dry frying as a way to more thoroughly remove the moisture.

First, you cut your tofu into cubes or trianges.  Heat a frying pan over medium to medium high heat. DO NOT ADD OIL.   Add the tofu to the pan and allow some of the water to evaporate. 

DSC02088

Press down with a spatula to release extra moisture.

DSC02089

Flip and dry fry until golden brown.  Next add your sauce.

I decided to try and replicate the orange blossom sauce from Balliceaux.  Now, I do not know exactly what orange blossom sauce is,  but I used my imagination.  For this sauce I mixed:  Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, honey, and orange juice.  In total the sauce came to about 3/4 cup.  I then poured it over the dry fried tofu, lowered the heat to low, and allowed it to simmer until the sauce caramelized.DSC02099  

Served up with a side of steamed broccoli and red skinned mashed potatoes.  Yum! 

Tonight I also took a butt-kicking boot camp class at the gym.  It was the perfect combo of cardio and strength training!  I am going to make this class a regular part of my workout routine. 

Happy almost Hump Day!

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

