Clean Eating on a Dime


I have discovered something wonderful that I simply must share. 🙂

Each month, Clean Eating Magazine features Five Fast Dinners for under $50.  Usually I pick and choose from these five meals and make them randomly throughout the month.  However, this month I decided to devote one entire week to these Clean Eating meals, and I tell ya, dinner has never been easier, or healthier!

DSC02305

The menu also includes a shopping list, so you won’t forget anything!  (You can also download the lists here.)

Last night I made Steak Tacos with Avocado Cream Sauce.

Larry had steak that was seasoned with taco seasoning, cumin and cinnamon. 

DSC02316 DSC02319

I used black beans with the same seasoning and the juice of one lemon  instead of steak and it was fantastic. 

DSC02323

DSC02321

Rather than being full of fat and calories, these tacos were full of veggies and fresh flavors.  We used romaine lettuce, red, yellow, and orange peppers, cilantro, and tomatoes to fill our tortillas.  It was comparable to Chipotle’s fresh flavors.  No joke!

If you don’t know what to make for Cinco de Mayo tomorrow, this would be perfect!  I almost wish I’d waited just a couple more days.   😉

Well, I’m off to read another few pages of The Sound and the Fury.  After struggling to find a new book to read (I just finished The Help.  It was wonderful!), I decided to go back to the classics.  Faulkner sure knows how to make you work for a story!

Happy almost Cinco de Mayo!

How do you plan to celebrate Cinco de Mayo???  Meg and I are planning a 6 mile run before going out for a drink and some comida de Mexico!

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Clean Eating on a Dime

  1. Jackie

    Looks yummy! I’m going to have to check out that magazine.

  2. Mo

    HMM, those peppers look familiar. What a great idea, we could cut up a bunch of veggies on the weekend and plan the meals. I’ll check out the mag. I am getting Health and Cooking light for Beth for mother’s day.

Leave a Reply

