Oats, Oats, Wonderful Oats


During the long winter months, I savor bowls of warm, thick and creamy homemade oats.

DSC01887

They are filling, stick to your ribs, and warm your body and soul.  I can think of nothing better to have for breakfast on a cold winter morning.

Now that the temperature is rising, and I am sweating by the time I finish blow drying my hair, hot oatmeal just does not sound appealing.

This is why I was so happy to find a recipe for Easy Overnight Vegan Oats on Oh She Glows. 

I’ve tried Overnight Oats in a jar, and rather liked them 🙂

overnight oats

Now, it may be that I am blonde, or just plain dumb, but I’ve never thought to just make the oats overnight in a bowl! 😉

DSC02331

It really is easy.  Mix the above listed ingredients in a bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap and place in the fridge overnight.  Peeking is acceptable and strongly encouraged 😉

DSC02330

In the morning, open fridge, pull out bowl, remove plastic wrap, top with favorite toppings, stir (if you wish), and enjoy!

DSC02335

These oats were topped with a tablespoon of Organic MarnaNantha Organic Raw Almond Butter and maple syrup. 

DSC02334

This breakfast was FILLING!  I couldn’t even finish eating it, and it kept me full from about 6:30 AM to around noon time. 

I have a funny feeling that these oats and I will be wonderful companions this summer. 

Now the great debate begins.

I have been following an every other day workout type pattern this week.  Last night, before my Cinco de Mayo celebration with Larry and Brian (here’s your shout out boys! 😉 ), I did about 15 minutes of light cardio followed by an hour long BodyPump class that rocked pretty much every muscle in my body. 

I hate that I’m in a workout rut, but my body is s-o-r-e.  I’m thinking I’ll probably take the dogs for a walk after dinner tonight when it’s a little cooler.  That way I’m not totally missing a workout, but I’m giving my poor musk-les a chance to rest.

We shall see.  I may convince myself to do a thirty minute video on ExerciseTV.  Who knows? 😉

Happy Almost Friday!

What is your favorite hot summer morning breakfast?

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Oats, Oats, Wonderful Oats

  1. YUM! Linking back to this in my next post!

  2. Pingback: Oh She Glows » Blog Archive » Do Couples Gain Weight and Lose Weight Together?

  3. I love overnight oats in the warmer months! I have yet to try adding chia seeds, but I’ve heard they work wonders!

  4. In the summer months I still hot oatmeal sometimes (I know, I’m odd), but I also like smoothies, overnight oats, yogurt and granola, fruit, or cereal.

  5. I’m not vegan…so I keep picturing overnight oats as having yogurt. But maybe that would be a worthy try also!
    Looks very nice.

    • I think that if you go back to Angela’s original post, she links to a site that actually uses yogurt 🙂

      I’m not vegan either, but I do enjoy a few vegan meals.

  6. Kristen

    I’m a big fan of the overnight vegan oats thanks to Oh She Glows. Lately I’ve been adding 2 tbsp of Trader Joe’s Chocolate Hemp Protein powder into the mix (I think that was also a suggestion of Angela’s). It is GREAT!

    I just finished my other favorite breakfast item, and that is an ezekial english muffin with 2 tbsp all natural raw almond butter and some 100% natural raspberry spread. Delish!

  7. Pingback: Overnight Oats! « Adventures with Little Miss

  8. Pingback: Overnight Oats Part One « Fresh … A New Chapter

  9. Hello webmaster do you need unlimited content for your page ?

    What if you could copy article from other blogs, make it unique
    and publish on your site – i know the right tool for you,
    just search in google:
    Loimqua’s article tool

Leave a Reply

