100th Post!!!!


At this very moment, you are reading Happy Heart, Happy Mind’s 100th post!  Can you believe it?  It seems like only yesterday I was contemplating sharing my words with the public.  I had no idea how to blog, or exactly what a blog was.  I didn’t know what I’d write about, or if people would even want to read anything I had to say.

youre_reading_the_100th_post_life[1] [Source]

The past five months has been a wonderful journey.  I have learned so much, and have gained a sense of happiness and well being that far exceeds any of my initial expectations.

I woke up this morning wondering what I should write about today.  A 100th post is monumental, right? 

Well, I’ve never worked well under that kind of pressure, so I decided to simply reflect on the ways that writing 100 posts of Happy Heart, Happy Mind has  impacted my life.

Writing every day has helped me to become a better teacher of writing.

One of the major reasons I began this blog was to become a better model for my students.  I make them write every day, and I do not allow them to say, “I don’t have anything to write about.”

We all have something to say.  Even I do. 

By writing every day, I have been able to share the strategies, triumphs and struggles of my own authorship.  I think more like a writer and I am able to share this with them.

I also think they are a bit impressed that their teacher actually writes something other than homework assignments and report card comments! 😉

I have become a major goal setter.

Writing every day about eating healthy, exercising, and keeping a happy mind has required me to constantly think about the next step.  I don’t want to write about the same thing every day, just like you don’t want to read about the same thing every day.

Since beginning this blog I have set goals for getting more sleep, running farther distances, saving money, lifting weights, staying positive, and being more creative  to name just a few.

It’s like my very own self-improvement project 🙂

I’ve helped a few people along the way.

Although I started this blog for somewhat personal reasons, I’ve found that my experiences have actually helped others to make healthier choices.  I’ll never forget the first time a co-worker told me that she had lost weight because the blog inspired her to eat “cleaner” and to get more exercise.  What an amazing feeling!

I’m a bit calmer.

I have been known by some to be quite the spaz.  I tend to get nervous and anxious when stress gets to be too much.  However, I’ve noticed that taking the time to focus on writing about my day, my thoughts, my feelings, and my experiences causes me to spaz out just a little less.  ;

I don’t worry as much.  I fall asleep faster at night, and I have less negative internal chatter

I take more pictures.

Before beginning HH, HM, I always forgot my camera.  The framed pictures in my house almost never changed, because I simply did not have any pictures to replace them with. 

My favorite blogs have beautiful pictures and are so eye catching.  The flow of pictures and words makes them easy and enjoyable to read.  I knew that I wanted to emulate this style of blogging. 

Now I take my camera everywhere in hopes of catching a just right shot for my next post. 

DSC01801

 DSC02310

DSC01754

Who knows?  Maybe I’ll get around to changing out a few framed photos soon 😉

I could probably go on and on forever about what a wonderful and fulfilling experience this has been, but in truth, it is knowing I have readers that makes this all worth while.  So, thank you for taking the time to read my thoughts, ideas, and anecdotes. 

Here’s to the next 100 posts!  🙂

DSC01857

Do you have any requests for future posts?  I would LOVE to do a reader’s request post.  Please send me your questions and ideas by leaving a comment below or emailing me at JenSanders52 at comcast dot net! 

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “100th Post!!!!

  1. Carole

    I am so proud of you!! Thank you for sharing YOU!!

Leave a Reply

