Peaceful Planting


We have survived yet another Monday!  Woot woot! 

As usual, this  Monday was h-e-c-t-i-c.  The kiddies were all wound up from their weekend trips to Kings Dominion, Washington, DC, the beach and elsewhere.  They were tired from playing all weekend, and I was tired, too. 

I spent this weekend hanging out with my mom and dad.  Saturday we planted her flower garden, and yesterday we (as in my mom and I) went for manicures and pedicures.  Papa Bush is not down with pretty pampering ๐Ÿ˜‰

DSC02431 

After a long and hectic Monday, I decided to plant the flowers I bought while out this weekend with the madre.  I found the whole planting process to be rather peaceful and relaxing.  I enjoyed myself and felt less stressed after an hour of gardening. 

DSC02410

I was not surprised to find this claim in an article about the health benefits of gardening. 

โ€œThe benefits of gardening are not all in the body; they’re also in the mind. Tending your garden is a real stress buster, helping relieve feelings of anxiety and providing a break from the general rush of life. Because the work involved is mainly physical, gardeners have a chance to think about their concerns, meditate, or just spend a few hours daydreaming. They can also feel a sense of accomplishment in a job well done.โ€ [Source]

I also had a lot of fun unwinding while I took these pictures with my very tiny, very unprofessional Sony Cyber-Shot :

DSC02383 

DSC02412

DSC02400 

DSC02392

DSC02409 

DSC02396 

DSC02382

Not too shabby for a gardening newbie, huh?  Now to see how long they live ๐Ÿ˜‰

Hereโ€™s a very interesting article about Gardening Your Way to Peace

And another from CBS Money Watch on the Grace of Gardening.  This one is especially beautifully written.

Iโ€™m feeling pretty Zen right now, so I think Iโ€™ll forego the heart pumping, bone pounding adrenaline rush of a run and do some yoga instead.

Namaste ๐Ÿ™‚

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Peaceful Planting

  1. BEAUTIFUL flowers!!! I am not a gardener myself, but I do see how it could be a very calming, stress-busting activity.

  2. Those are really great pictures of the flowers! ๐Ÿ™‚ Relaxing, nice to look at after a long day :):)

Leave a Reply

