Waning Wednesdays


Hello!  Happy Hump Day!  How is your week going???

Lately I have found myself really dragging right after lunch.  My energy levels plummet and it takes so much will power to stay motivated.

It’s the worst. 

My students get insanely goofy and hyper after lunch. 

All I want to do is take a nap.

jhan460l[1] 

I try hard to pack lunches that contain complex carbs, healthy fats, and lean protein, but even still, I find myself exhausted

Around lunch time I start to realize that even though I have been going strong for five straight hours, I still have another full day ahead of me.  I still have to finish teaching, plan lessons, run errands, clean my house, do laundry, cook dinner, workout, and relax.  Too much to do in only a few hours.  Just thinking about it makes me tired. 

Today, on my way to work at 7 AM, I decided to turn the radio off, and really think about what I needed to do to stay motivated once the kids left, so that I could try to be more productive outside of the classroom. 

I decided that if I truly want to get things done in the evenings, I need to leave work earlier.  I often stay long after the kids have left for meetings, to grade papers, plan lessons, and get organized.  However, no matter how long I stay in the evenings, the work never fades.  The next day there are still papers to grade, parents to e-mail, and meetings to attend.

Today I left at 3:30 and it was a wonderful decision.

When I got home I swept and mopped and dusted.  I also started my laundry…  I know, hard to believe, right?!?!?!?

Then I did this AWESOME workout from Shape Magazine.

Celebrity Workouts [Source]

It was the perfect combination of cardio and strength training.  I used a kettle bell, a band tied on the ends, and different sized dumbbells.  For the cardio, I did jumping jacks, kickboxing, ran up and down the stairs, and danced my little heart out.  After about an hour, I was a sweaty mess!

There were no groceries to be found in the kitchen, so Larry and I went out for fast food.

GASP!

No, we didn’t go through the drive-thru at Mickey D’s.  We went to Martin’s and got salads from the salad bar.  It was fast, and it was food, but fattening fast food it was not

I’m definitely going to try and leave work earlier more often.  I need to find ways to be more productive during the day, so I can leave without feeling guilt.  The work will be there tomorrow.  I must learn to value my personal life as much as my professional life.

How do you balance work and life outside of the office/classroom/workplace??? 

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Waning Wednesdays

  1. Carole

    It is so hard finding that balance! I struggle with it every day!! You give 110% in ALL that you do…no wonder you are tired! I bet things will slow down after SOLs!! ☺!

  2. Pingback: Life is Good « Happy Heart, Happy Mind

Leave a Reply

