Breakfast of Champions


Hello!  Happy Saturday! 

I hope you had a wonderful Friday night, and that you’ve taken some time to rest, relax and rejuvenate on this lovely Saturday.

This morning I woke up and watched Thursday’s Season Finale of Grey’s Anatomy.  It was crazy intense!  Anyone else catch it??? 

After a gripping two hours, I was in the mood for some breakfast.  But I wasn’t in the mood for eggs, or cereal, or oatmeal.  I wanted something filling, but light. 

I did a little food blogging research and decided on Protein Pancakes. 

I modified The Fitnessista’s recipe for Perfect Protein Pancakes.  And because I’ve decided to cut back on my dairy consumption, I decided to replace an egg white with Angela’s Vegan Egg White

Ingredients:

-1/2 scoop protein

-1 chia seed vegan egg white

-1/4 C almond milk

-2 T whole wheat flour

-1/2 tsp cinnamon

-1/2 tsp vanilla

-1/2 tsp packed brown sugar

This breakfast was super easy and quick.

First, I made the “egg white.”  I was a little skeptical, but I must say this is ah-mazing! 

I took 1 tsp of chia seeds and soaked them in 1/8 cup of water.  After about 3 minutes, they were seriously the consistency of an egg white!  I couldn’t believe it!

 DSC02703

I mean look at this!  Chia seeds are my new favorite super food.

DSC02709

I then mixed all of the ingredients together in a small bowl.

DSC02712

Once the pan was good and hot, I added the batter and did some fancy unpictured flipping 😉

DSC02713

I topped them with a little Earth Balance, maple syrup, and sliced strawberries.

DSC02722

Who said the Breakfast of Champions had to be Wheaties???  These kept me full for more than 4 hours today!

Well, I’m off to do Yvonne Strahovski’s workout from Shape magazine and finish getting ready for the party. 

Have a great night!

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Breakfast of Champions

  1. WOW this looks amazing. I must make this now. for dinner.

  2. I’ve been wanting to try the protein pancake! How great is it that it kept you full for that long?!?!

  3. Jennifer it reminds me of frog eggs. GROSS

  4. greenforthesoul

    I want to try protein pancakes because regular pancakes leave me lightheaded from all the carb/sugar. Jen, I am a teacher too! 3rd grade for 6 years 🙂

  5. I love chia seeds and those protein pancakes look delicious!

  6. Pingback: Ice, Ice, Baby — Oh She Glows

  7. I’m planning a summer wedding in New York. I’m struggling to find the perfect bridesmaid dress. Loved the Post.

Leave a Reply

