E-I-E-I-O


Old MacDonald had a farm. 

And I visited his market yesterday.  The Bryan Park Farmer’s Market.

I got a few goods, 🙂

DSC02754

which I turned into a rather tasty dinner.

DSC02765

Sautéed cabbage, lentils, and a toasted sandwich round topped with Earth Balance “butter.” 

The cabbage was the very first thing I noticed as I walked up to the vegetable stand.  I have never made cabbage before, so this was unusual for me.  As soon as I saw it, I had to have it. 

Maybe this is what they mean by intuitive eating. 

DSC02758

This dinner definitely made me happy. 

To sauté the cabbage, I sprayed a large pan with olive oil spray and heated it over medium.  I sliced the cabbage into tiny sliver pieces and chopped 3 carrots into matchstick sized pieces.  I added the carrots first, because I knew they would take longer to cook.  I then added the cabbage and cooked until it was slightly caramelized.

Delish!

DSC02768

Larry, who hates cabbage, said it was the best cabbage he’s ever had.  I think that’s a compliment.  😉

There was something about eating a cabbage that was pulled from the ground yesterday that made this meal extra spectacular. 

Tonight we’re having sautéed kale and mung beans (yes, I said mung!).  Larry is having reduced fat kielbasa and I’m having Tofurkey vegan kielbasa.   We may also be having not-so-very-healthy Jiffy Corn Bread 😉

Have a great night! :) 

Peace!

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “E-I-E-I-O

  1. Anonymous

    Glad you made it to the market! The one on Saturday is spectacular! There are sooo many more vendors!

  2. I’ve never cooked with cabbage before, but you’ve inspired me to try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

