Marvelous Monday


Happy Monday!  🙂

That’s something you probably never thought you’d hear me say, huh?!  But how can you not be happy on a three day weekend!?! 😉

Yesterday was an awesome day– complete with a vegan BLT sandwich and some serious pool time.

I’ll start with the vegan BLT.

While perusing Ellwood Thompson’s a few days ago, I discovered that they carried Fakin’ Bacon.  Fakin’ Bacon strips are smoky flavored tempeh. 

DSC02779

In the past, I have not had much luck with tempeh.  To me it has always tasted like feet, and although I am not a picky eater, feet tasting food kind of crosses the line.

However, I thought I’d give it a chance since I have read so much about it in the past few months on other blogs and in several vegan/vegetarian cookbooks. 

I am so glad I did!

This tempeh did NOT taste like feet at all!  It was marinated (which must be the key to tasty tempeh), and it really almost tasted like real bacon!  Larry didn’t necessarily agree, but he loves his real pork bacon, so he is quite biased!

First, I toasted some Ezekiel bread and slathered on some Nayonaise Vegan Mayo.

DSC02781

Then came the “bacon,” lettuce (spinach), and tomato.

DSC02785

Pretty face rockin’ if you ask me!

DSC02786

After stuffing our faces, we headed over to the pool, which was incredible!

DSC02787

I have to admit I was a little nervous about joining this pool.  We paid a pretty hefty price for a membership before we ever even saw the pool set up and running.  But I must say this pool is very, very nice. 

They have a made to order snack bar, plenty of chairs, clean bathrooms, working grills, water coolers, horseshoe pits, ping pong tables, basketball courts, XM radio playing in the background, volleyball nets, and these totally awesome slides :)  They even had baskets in the bathroom of emergency supplies and toiletries.

I say it was money well spent!

Today I got my car washed and started some laundry.  When Larry gets home (he did not get a three day weekend 😦 ) we may head back to the pool for some more fun in the sun (slathered in sunscreen of course!).  I’m thinking tonight’s dinner will be something served from the grill!

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and don’t forget the sunscreen! 😉

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

