Monsters in Love


Happy Humpday!!!  Can you believe how quickly this week has flown by?!?!?!

This week I have been whipping up a vegan storm!  I’ve been trying various recipes from Eat, Drink and Be Vegan by Dreena Burton. 

On Monday, I made her Olive & Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus…  well, sort of.  I didn’t have any olives so I just made the Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus part. 

DSC02810

This dip is far better than any I’ve ever bought in a store.  I can’t believe how easy it is to make your own hummus

Needless to say, it’s only Wednesday, and this is all the hummus I have left. 

DSC02817

I am a hummus monster!

And I happen to be married to the cookie monster!!!

No, not this one.

cookiemonster[1]

This one!

DSC02588

Larry’s claim to fame may be that he can eat an entire batch of cookies in one night.  WITHOUT.GAINING.A.SINGLE.POUND!!!

However, I do not blame him for eating so many last night.  These cookies were irresistible.

Not exactly chocolate chip cookie irresistible. 

But close.

Lemon Poppy Seed Crackle Cookies

DSC02799  

These cookies are made with some unusual cookie ingredients: spelt flour, poppy seeds, fresh lemon juice and lemon zest, brown rice syrup, maple syrup, and canola oil to name just a few. 

Although I have used most of the above listed ingredients in one way or another before last night, Brown Rice Syrup is something I had never used. 

DSC02807

image [Source]

It was thick and syrupy.  Sweet and gooey.  The perfect sweetener for a perfect cookie 🙂

DSC02801

We got creative and put a scoop of vanilla Haagen-Dazs ice cream between two cookies to make delectable ice cream sandwiches!

 DSC02804

Kinda ruined the whole vegan aspect of the cookie, but hey, we can’t always be perfect!

Tonight I am going to try Dreena’s Orange Sesame Tofu (scallops for Larry) and Coconut-Lime Basmati Rice. 

Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan is a cookbook that I am definitely going to purchase.  The recipes are easy to follow, healthy and best of all, CLEAN! 

DSC02815

I’ve also enjoyed reading Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet; however, I’m not sure this is one I will buy.  While I love her philosophy, and I am flirting with a vegan diet right now, I don’t think I could be this restrictive.  I believe that life is all about balance.   

I am happy to say that tomorrow is my Friday!!!  Woot woot!!!

I took a personal day on Friday, so I could visit my alma mater with my second to youngest brother and mom.  I can’t wait!!!

Have a lovely evening!

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Monsters in Love

  1. Those cookies sound very interesting! I have yet to try using brown rice syrup, but I’d like to!

  2. lindsy

    Hi!! I was wondering where you found brown rice syrup?? I’ve looked everywhere! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

