Enchiladas Sin Carne


Buenos Noches, amigos! 

I just got back from taking a short two mile run with Larry around our newly paved track.  Two miles doesn’t sound like much, but considering that before he walked in the door I was ready to put my PJs on and climb under the covers, I think it’s a pretty amazing feat!  😉

I didn’t get much sleep last night.  The dogs kept waking me up and I don’t think I fell into a deep sleep until about 15 minutes before my alarm went off.  Well, maybe not, but the screaming alarm at 5:45 AM did make me want to cry big, fat alligator tears.

To top it all off, when I left for work the puppers were nice in cozy in my bed sound asleep!

DSC01316

Today wasn’t too shabby for a Tuesday.  We spent a lot of time outside and my shoulders got a bit toasty on the playground.

Today’s lunch was leftover Avocado & Pinto Bean Enchiladas from Dreena Burton’s Eat, Drink and Be Vegan (hence the meatless enchilada Spanish title tonight).  The leftovers may have been even better than the original dish. 

Last night I made Larry ground turkey enchiladas. 

DSC03055

I made my own “meat” out of mushrooms, beans, onions, and cashew pieces.

DSC03051

It was out of this world!

I have absolutely no desire to ever eat meat again after discovering so many delicious alternatives.  I truly believe that I like these enchiladas far better than any meat version I have ever tried.

DSC03056

HERS & HIS

DSC03060

HERS 🙂

DSC03057

His and Hers to clean up…  ugh!  This is seriously the only downfall to making a meat and meat-free version of each meal.  But it is well worth it, and it makes both of us very, very happy 🙂

Tonight I plan on sleeping really well and waking up super refreshed.  I’ve been playing around with the idea of getting up early to go running before work.  Do any of you workout before going to work?

I’ve tried this before, but I find it especially hard to get up at 5 AM.

Any tips for getting used to a routine of early morning workouts???

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Enchiladas Sin Carne

  1. Hmmmm those vegan enchiladas sound great! You’ve been using that cookbook a lot, right? I think I might try to get it out from the library next week.

  2. Alicia

    I get up and work out before work. I feel like I’m more motivated in the morning. I probably don’t have to be at work until later than you, so I get up at 6 and either run in my neighborhood or drive into Norfolk to get to my gym and shower there. It takes planning, but coming home and being able to use my evening time for me, is completely worth it.

    However, I did not plan this morning and ended up spending too much money at Starbucks to get my iced coffee and protein plate. So planning is definitely key!!!

  3. Wendy

    Woring out in the am is the best! You have the entire day to do what you need without trying to figure out how to squeeze in a workout plus it sets the tone for the day. When I work out in the am I eat better and am calmer during the day. It is hard at first, but after a week or two, the getting up part is easy and your body is trained so it becomes automatic. Go for it Jen! I think you’ll love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

