Dinner Divine


DSC03091

Last night’s dinner was a Farmer’s Market dream.  Seventy five percent of the food on my plate was grown within 20 miles of my house, and none of it ever had any preservatives, additives, or pesticides. 

It was a dinner divine.

After a quick stop at the Farmer’s Market to pick up some produce from my CSA, the wheels in my head started turning.  I knew I could throw together a quick, easy, healthy, and delicious dinner.

First up was the Swiss chard.

DSC03073

I’ve never cooked Swiss chard before, but I have fallen madly in love with leafy greens, and these were especially appealing with their purple stalks and billowy edges. 

I first toasted about 2 tablespoons of pine nuts in a hot pan and set them aside to use later.  I then heated about a tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat and added sliced onions and the Swiss chard stalks cut into inch sized pieces. 

I chopped the chard leaves into bite sized pieces and added them to the onion/stalk mixture.

Then inspiration hit me! 

Recently, I have seen many recipes where greens are cooked with raisins, or something semi-sweet.  I didn’t have any raisins, but I did have dried apricots.

I diced about 2 tablespoons of apricots and added them to the mixture. 

DSC03068

I drizzled the mixture with balsamic vinegar and added a dash of sea salt and freshly ground black pepper.  

When everything was good and tender I topped the mixture with the toasted pine nuts.

DSC03074  

(Some pine nuts may have been a little too toasted.)

While the greens were cooking I also made some quinoa with vegetable stock instead of water to add some extra flavor.

But here comes the really cool part.  I, yes you read this correctly, I, grilled the vegetables.  Not Larry, but me!!!!  I did it! 

I had picked up a beautiful eggplant as well as zucchini, and squash from the market on Tuesday.  I also had a few left over baby bellas from the vegan enchiladas I made on Tuesday.   I sliced these babies up, threw them in a large plastic baggie with olive oil, sea salt, ground black pepper, and balsamic vinegar, shook the bag like crazy, and plopped them on the hot grill.

DSC03080

DSC03084

See!  Wasn’t the eggplant pretty???

DSC03085

I heart mushrooms 😉

DSC03082

I was very proud of my perfectly grilled veggies 🙂

DSC03090

The combination of quinoa, Swiss Chard, and grilled veggies was perfectly filling and tasty. 

DSC03095

It was almost effortless, but as I was eating, it I knew that if I had ordered this meal in a restaurant, I would have been more than pleased.

It is very easy to make healthy dinners that are delicious.  Especially at this time of the year when fresh fruits and veggies are in abundance. 

I encourage everyone to think about adding fresh veggies to your dinner plate at least once a week.  And if you’ve never been to a Farmer’s Market, I highly recommend it.  There is something so amazing about produce this fresh!!! 

Here’s a link to LocalHarvest.org that can help you find your nearest Farmers Market.

What’s your favorite impromptu meal that you’ve thrown together?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Dinner Divine

  1. Mo

    Jenn,you should definitely submit this to a vegan website or prevention magazine or something…it all looked so yummy!

Leave a Reply

