Salmon & Mock Tuna Melts


Here it is!  The pictures and recipes I promised yesterday 🙂
Salmon and Mock Tuna Melts

DSC03432

Can you tell which one is real fish????  I made them and I’m having a hard time telling!

DSC03417 DSC03418

Mock Tuna                                                           Real Salmon

 

DSC03428 Real Salmon Melt

DSC03431 Mock Tuna Melt

I found the recipe for Real Salmon Melts in the July/August issue of Clean Eating Magazine

It is very similar to making tuna salad except rather than using canned tuna fish, I cooked a large salmon filet and pulled it apart with a fork.  Then I added shredded carrots, celery, onion, dill, lemon zest, fresh lemon juice, paprika, and a little sea salt and pepper to taste.  For the wet ingredients, I used nonfat plain Greek yogurt instead of mayonnaise and a couple teaspoons of Dijon mustard. 

Larry liked this so much he had two sandwiches!

The Mock Tuna is what I am really excited about.  I hadn’t realized how much I missed tuna sandwiches until I saw this recipe on the Compassionate Action for Animals website. 

Here is my modified version 🙂

  • 1 (15oz.) cans chick-peas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup vegan mayonnaise (could have used less)
  • 2 stalks celery minced
  • 1 large carrot cleaned and shredded
  • 1/4 small sweet onions, chopped
  • 1/2 tablespoon nutritional yeast flakes
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • sea salt and pepper to taste

In a medium sized bowl mash chick-peas coarsely with a fork.  Add the rest of the ingredients and mixed gently.

To make these “sea” inspired salads into scrumptious melts, toast two pieces of pumpernickel or other whole grain bread.  Arrange tomato slices on toasted bread and top with about 1/2 cup of “fish”/veggie mixture.  Cover each piece with a slice of cheese (I used provolone) and broil for 3 minutes or until the cheese is melted.  Top with remaining slice of toast.  Slice and enjoy!

DSC03437

I served these sandwiches with this Mediterranean Chickpea Salad from WebMD.

I get so excited when I find recipes like this that take the place of a meal from my meat eating days.  There are so many options out there!!!

Do you have a favorite meat free version of a traditional meaty meal???

When I go to the beach this summer and my entire family is eating tuna fish sandwiches, I will not have to eat a completely different meal.  I can have my own meat free version (though I know my brothers will heckle me to no end). 🙂

Well, I’m off to the gym for day three of my Healthy Habits workout.  My muscles are a little sore, but I’m still going strong. 😉

How are your Healthy Habits coming along?

~Jen

magnolia Remember, Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be You!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Salmon & Mock Tuna Melts

  1. Larry Sanders

    My salmon was so delicious, I just ate the leftovers for lunch. I don’t even like leftovers – that’s how good it was!

Leave a Reply

